The human body has a fundamental flaw… its constant need for sustenance. This flaw, which I constantly exhibit even now as I munch on a sandwich, is the reason why people have made a career of feeding people. I wouldn’t have thought that I would end up spending an entire year eating junk food and cereal after coming from a home where food is an extremely serious matter.

I had just recently arrived home, exactly one day prior, when my older sister invited me to join her and her friends for dinner that evening. It was a Friday, my first Friday back home for good after a long freshman year at college and I was quite keen on going out and rekindling the love I had for my city, the only problem was that I was uncertain as to where we were actually going out for dinner. Seeing as I have developed this oh-so-lovely habit of sleeping till noon every day (thanks so much late night study sessions), I completely missed everything my sister had said due to my half asleep daze at 7am when she had invited me. I heard something vague about “fancy dress”, “10 course dinner”, “Cube” and a vague reply leave my mouth thereafter; when I had finally woken up and came to my senses, I found a lovely message about the entire affair from her. Details as follows:

Cube Tasting Kitchen, Parktown North. 10 course dining experience. Dress code: casual semi-formal. We have to leave home by 5pm to make it for 7pm when the dinner service starts”

Accepting the information, especially since I hadn’t had a decent meal in weeks, my mother was out-of-town having the time of her life with her friends and I was probably going to be home alone eating cereal for dinner again for the third night in a row, I decided to completely immerse myself in the whole experience.

We arrived with almost an hour to kill, there’s just something about my family… we’re either very late or super early, nothing in between. My sister ran into her friend and I milled about on my phone, taking snapchat‘s and being a general “down-to-earth” teen. The time finally lapsed and we were on our way! Now, the name of the restaurant is literal for its surroundings, the outside of the place looks like an actual black cube and the decor within is quite simplistic, not too distracting yet serene and pleasing to the eyes. The mood is set with dim candle light. A very enjoyable setting.

The service began promptly at 7:30pm, we had a variation of the October menu give or take a few changes all with a glass of white wine, water and a passion-fruit and lemonade mix (the restaurant supplies water and basic drinks such as soda’s, patrons are advised to supply their own wine. Each dish has a specific type of wine pairing and is indicated on the menu) .

The experience was completely life changing, the food was impeccably made as well as the service from both the chef’s and the wait staff made the night extremely enjoyable. With every dish, a chef would accompany it and give a detailed break down of what the dish was composed of and thereafter we would indulge in the small portions often wanting more after licking our plates clean (figuratively, though if it wasn’t such a formal place and I was back in my college dorm, I would’ve seriously licked some of the plates I had been given it was that good). The experience came to an end at 11pm after 10 courses of one of their lighter menu’s (one of the chefs had said to us after the service) and I left feeling satisfied and surprisingly full (granted I had only had a chocolate croissant all day but you get the picture).

Unfortunately, I can not remember everything about each dish however I do remember that my favorites were dish 4,8 and 10. Absolutely amazing. Best part about cube is that the menu changes every single month so there is no chance of eating this menu again.

Overall great experience! Would definitely recommend it as a try-before-you-die activity! (photos of the food at the end after salute)

With Love

Retro

First dish of the night.
First dish of the night.
Second dish of the night.
Second dish of the night.
Third dish of the night.
Third dish of the night.
Fourth dish of the night.
Fourth dish of the night.
Fifth dish of the night.
Fifth dish of the night.
Sixth dish of the night.
Sixth dish of the night.
Seventh dish of the night.
Seventh dish of the night.
Eighth dish of the night.
Eighth dish of the night.
Ninth dish of the night.
Ninth dish of the night.
Tenth dish of the night.
Tenth dish of the night.

 

